5th Grand Saint-Jean Meeting

Sunday 16th September from 1:30pm to 5pm

As part of the 35th European Heritage Days, Grand Saint-Jean presents a glimpse of its past in cinema.

The Screening of “Château historique*”, a fictional silent film produced by Gaumont, shot in 1923 by Henri Desfontaines with the renowned actress Pauline Carton.
5eme-rencontre-grand-saint-jeanCome and enjoy the views of Grand Saint-Jean, the Vendôme Pavilion and various sites in the Pays d’Aix.

Attention all lovers of culture!

As part of the Heritage Days (15th & 16th September), as in previous events, the exteriors of the buildings and the park of Grand Saint-Jean will be open to the public.

In the inner courtyard of the chateau, display panels will present the estate bequeathed by Blanche d’Estienne de Saint-Jean, revealing its history and artists who were inspired by it.

“The setting in all its states” of Grand Saint-Jean, is relived in the screening of the silent movie ‘Château historique’* . A romantic comedy, produced in 1923 by Gaumont, a pioneering company of the silver screen, and directed by Henri Desfontaines, master of the silent movie who had the art of integrating the intimate atmosphere of the places where he filmed.

We rediscover talented actors, notably from the French comedy scene, who are often forgotten today, in particular Pauline Carton (1884-1974), in the role of Aunt Cornubin, who has appeared in more than 250 films, including The longest day (1962). This icon of French cinema, collaborator to Sacha Guitry, also covered famous songs like Le Temps des cerises.

Thanks to the Gaumont Pathé Archives, the FDESJ Endowment Fund will be repeatedly screening on Sunday 16th September a copy of this work which has been preserved by the mythical film society.

* copyright “Château historique” a film by Henri Desfontaines. A Gaumont production. (1923)

This one-hour, high-quality black-and-white film will delight Aix-en-Provence film lovers and lovers of its heritage in recognising many local sites in their past: the Vendome Pavilion, the Grand Saint-Jean Chateau, including the exterior staircase of the west pavilion and the Saint Jean-Baptiste fountain, bastides, hotels in the town, village houses, gardens and parks …

Some locations and buildings in the film could not be identified, so the insight of the audience will be called upon in a forum after the screening.

A participation fee of 5 euros will be requested from attendees of the screening. This will be designated to continue the restoration activities undertaken voluntarily by the FDESJ Endowment Fund and to contribute to the revival of this unique estate, which was, in the 16th century, the residence of François d’Estienne de Saint-Jean, President of the Parliament of Provence.

Donations from individuals and businesses are eligible to tax concessions.

The FDESJ, created in 2012 by Catherine and Jean-Pierre d’Estienne d’Orves, has the support of its donors, ARPA and Vieilles Maisons Françaises, the support of cultural associations in Aix-en-Provence (Friends of the Festival, les amis du musée Granet et de l’oeuvre de Cézanne, Friends of the Museums, Vasarely Foundation).

Saturday, 15th September, Jean-Pierre d’Estienne d’Orves will take part in the a forum of the stakeholders of the estate from 5pm to 6pm by ARPA (Maynier d’Oppède Hotel in the Zyromsky Amphitheater).

To learn more

Email: contact@grandsainjean.org
Websites :

5ème Rencontre du Grand Saint-Jean

Dimanche 16 septembre 2018 de 13h30 à 17h

Dans le cadre des 35èmes Journées européennes du Patrimoine, le Grand Saint-Jean fait son cinéma.

Projection du film muet « Château historique* », fiction produite par Gaumont, tournée en 1923 par Henri Desfontaines avec la grande comédienne Pauline Carton.
5eme-rencontre-grand-saint-jeanVenez reconnaître des vues du Grand Saint-Jean, du Pavillon Vendôme et de différents sites du Pays d’Aix.

Avis aux explorateurs du patrimoine!

Dans le cadre des Journées du Patrimoine (15 et 16 septembre), comme pour les éditions précédentes, l’extérieur des bâtiments et le parc du Grand Saint-Jean seront ouverts au public.

Dans la cour intérieure du château, des panneaux présenteront le domaine légué par Blanche d’Estienne de Saint-Jean, évoqueront l’histoire des lieux et les artistes pour lesquels ils furent source d’inspiration.

« Le décor dans tous ses états » s’exprime au Grand Saint-Jean, entre autre, par la projection du film muet Château historique*. Une fiction, cocasse intrigue amoureuse, produite en 1923 par Gaumont, firme pionnière du 7ème art, et tournée par Henri Desfontaines. Ce réalisateur, véritable petit-maître du muet, avait l’art de fixer l’atmosphère intimiste des lieux qu’il filmait.

On y redécouvre des acteurs de talent, principalement de la Comédie française, aujourd’hui souvent oubliés, en particulier, Pauline Carton (1884-1974), dans le rôle de la tante Cornubin, qui a joué dans plus de 250 films dont, en 1962, Le Jour le plus long. Cette icône du cinéma français, collaboratrice de Sacha Guitry, interpréta aussi des chansons célèbres comme Le Temps des cerises.

Grâce à Gaumont Pathé Archives, le Fonds de Dotation d’Estienne de Saint-Jean projettera en continu le dimanche 16 septembre l’exemplaire de cet œuvre telle que préservée par la mythique société cinématographique.

*copyright »Château historique » un film d’Henri Desfontaines. Une production Gaumont 1923.

D’une durée d’une heure, les prises de vue en noir et blanc d’excellente qualité permettront aux cinéphiles et amateurs du patrimoine aixois de reconnaître nombre de lieux du pays d’Aix : pavillon Vendôme, château du Grand Saint-Jean, dont l’escalier extérieur du pavillon ouest et la fontaine Saint Jean-Baptiste, bastides, hôtels en ville, maisons de village, jardins et parcs…

Certains sites et bâtiments n’ayant pu être identifiés, à l’aide d’un quiz, la sagacité des spectateurs sera sollicitée après la projection.

Une participation souhaitée de 5 euros sera demandée au public ayant assisté à la projection. Elle sera destinée à poursuivre les actions de restauration du patrimoine entreprises bénévolement par le Fonds de dotation pour contribuer à la renaissance de ce domaine unique, qui fut, au 16ème siècle, la résidence de François d‘Estienne de Saint-Jean, président du Parlement de Provence.

Les dons des particuliers et des entreprises ouvrent droit à une réduction d’impôts.

Le FDESJ, créé en 2012 par Catherine et Jean-Pierre d’Estienne d’Orves, bénéficie de l’appui des ses donateurs, de l’ARPA, des Vieilles Maisons Françaises et du soutien d’associations culturelles aixoises (Amis du Festival, les amis du musée Granet et de l’oeuvre de Cézanne, Amis des Musées, Fondation Vasarely).

Samedi 15 septembre, Jean-Pierre d’Estienne d’Orves interviendra dans le cadre du Forum des acteurs du patrimoine organisé de 17 à 18h par l’ARPA (Hôtel Maynier d’Oppède Amphithéâtre Zyromski).

Afin d’en savoir plus

Courriel: contact@grandsainjean.org
Sites internet :

Téléchargez le PDF